Year 10 and 11 are sitting the new GCSE syllabus:

Unit 1: Performing 35%
Total duration of performances: 4-6 minutes

Section A: Performing (30%)
A minimum of two pieces, one of which must be an ensemble performance of at least one minute duration. The other piece(s) may be either solo and/or ensemble. One of the pieces performed must link to an area of study of the learner’s choice.

Section B: Programme Note (5%)
A programme note for one of the pieces chosen for performance, linked to an area of study.

Unit 2: Composing 35 %
Total duration of compositions: 3-6 minutes

Section A: Composing (30%)
Two compositions, one of which must be in response to a brief set by WJEC. Learners will choose one brief from a choice of four, each one linked to a different area of study. The briefs will be released during the first week of September in the academic year in which the assessment is to be taken.
The second composition is a free composition for which learners set their own brief.

Section B: Evaluating (5%)

An evaluation of the piece composed in response to a brief set by WJEC.

Unit 3: Appraising 30%
Written examination: 1 hour

This unit is assessed via a listening examination.
Eight questions in total, two on each of the four areas of study.

Area of study 1: Musical Forms and Devices
Area of study 2: Music for Ensemble
Area of study 3: Film Music
Area of study 4: Popular Music